It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:24 pm
Board index » Talking About Stuff » Good Tech

Vehicle: LWB Sierra & XL7

Post Posted: Fri May 30, 2014 8:47 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
It's been a while since I done a DIY on here, so here go's.

As usual, I am not a mechanic or what ever, If you choose to do this, It's at your own risk. Myself or Auszookers take no responsibility for your actions blah blah blah.

I've got some GTi seats to go into my LWB tray back / cab chassis, Now the SJ51T has a different non adjustable seat rail arrangement to your regular LWB and SWB - these use the same elevated type passenger seat rail. (basically the SJ51T are a fixed back seat)

The Pro's:
- Well they're GTi seats, comfy as F@#K, Especially comparing to the standard milk crate.
- They look a hell of a lot better
- Reclinable to access behind and under the seat / extra pocket behind the seat = More storage.

The Con's:
- In the cab chassis, there's not alot of extra leg room, Your actually sacrificing a bit so if your a tall bastard, Don't bother.
- Not being able to recline it in the fully sick dentist position like you can in a soft top when cruising.

I am only explaining the Passenger side as there is only one small extra step, but the drivers side is the same theory. There may be a few other options on how you mount the seats, this is the way I think is best.

YOU WILL NEED:
Obviously GTi seats / I suppose you could also use any brand aftermarket or even standard Sierra seats
2 x Drivers side adjustable seat rails from a SWB
8mm & 11mm Drill bits
M8 Nutsert's & tool
Original bolts
A short KENO Pencil

First, ditch the GTi seat rails off the seats. The passenger side has a cable for the rear passenger's to press to get out, Just chop it and remove the screw that holds it in place.

These are the standard pissy SJ51T seat rails, get rid of them too.