It is currently Sat Dec 07, 2019 2:49 pm
Board index » Talking About Stuff » Good Tech



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 866
Location: Map of Tassie!

Post Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:57 am 
Reply with quote Top  
I thought I'd finally get around to bolting this in...

Vitara power steering pump and box will be used with a BenT adaptor kit.
I started with the pump.

Here's the mount adaptor that comes in BenT's kit. It's bolted to a G16B.
Image

And here's the pump bolted to the adaptor:
Image

All good, but doesn't leave room for my A/C compressor :(



Then I thought, I've got a Vitara (Baleno) engine, so this Vitara pump should bolt straight on :P
And it does! I will have to modify the passenger side radiator mount to clear the pulley. I'll do that when I have the radiator out next weekend.

Here's the pump mounted low on the block. I've removed the pulley for the time being, but it lines up perfectly. Notice I've flipped the adaptor plate. That will be used to mount the A/C bracket.
Image

A/C bracket bolted to adaptor plate:
Image

Reckon I've got enough compressors? :lol:
Image

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 12:00 am
Posts: 21335
Location: Smart Ass Island

Post Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 7:10 am 
Reply with quote Top  
With the pump down low (in the org pos) when the eng move's, the pull WILL hit the rad bracket & shed your belt.....

_________________
I used to be indecisive,
now I'm not so sure.....

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 12:00 am
Posts: 573
Location: Perth WA

Post Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:15 am 
Reply with quote Top  
jeez, i thought my engine bay was full of stuff. Does the p/steer and aircon run of 1 shared belt on the baleno/vitara? Ive found that with my baleno motor i mounted the pump on the adaptor bracket, it just lightly touches the overflow bottle at the full stretch of the engine mounts but nothing major

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 866
Location: Map of Tassie!

Post Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:27 am 
Reply with quote Top  
Don't worry Stekky, I'll cut enough out so it doesn't hit :wink:

Yes Birko, that's exactly what I'm going to do. I think the overflow bottle is clear, if not, it's easy to move anyway.


Looks like I've found a ribbed pulley too :D
Can anyone tell me how to get the old one off the compressor? I've undone the bolt on the front, but it won't budge...

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 12:00 am
Posts: 21335
Location: Smart Ass Island

Post Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:30 am 
Reply with quote Top  
CairnsZook wrote:
Don't worry Stekky, I'll cut enough out so it doesn't hit :wink:



:helloo: I thought the same...........then on the first hill.... :roll:
spent the rest of the day strong arming the thing through G/H

_________________
I used to be indecisive,
now I'm not so sure.....

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 12:00 am
Posts: 573
Location: Perth WA

Post Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:48 am 
Reply with quote Top  
Quote:
Can anyone tell me how to get the old one off the compressor? I've undone the bolt on the front, but it won't budge...


Maybe try 3 arm bearing puller? I use this for these kinda jobs

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 866
Location: Map of Tassie!

Post Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:12 am 
Reply with quote Top  
birko wrote:
Quote:
Can anyone tell me how to get the old one off the compressor? I've undone the bolt on the front, but it won't budge...


Maybe try 3 arm bearing puller? I use this for these kinda jobs


I have. All it did was bend the v-pulley :?

 Profile  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 5513
Location: Holland Park
Vehicle: Awesome!!

Post Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:20 am 
Reply with quote Top  
Well I think the only solution then is to remove all AC bits, pack em in a box and send them to me Armsup

_________________
Lil Foot!
http://tiny.cc/gtsw1

 Profile  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 12:00 am
Posts: 638
Location: Hobart

Post Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:35 am 
Reply with quote Top  
Hey dave, I think the pump I have is Jimny as I think my brother sold the sierra one with his car when Gricey bought it. may still work?

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 866
Location: Map of Tassie!

Post Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:34 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
Does it look like mine Brenno? I seem to remember yours being a little smaller maybe?
Even so, it should still work, it's not as if we need ice cold A/C in Tassie anyway :lol:

Dan, you only just missed out. Would have been free for you too :| :arrow: :finger:

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 866
Location: Map of Tassie!

Post Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:21 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
So, a week later, and it's all done, well pretty much...

Ben-T adaptor plate on:
And if anyone is wondering, the gold square metal section that comes with the kit is a spacer for the radiator bracket. (Not installed yet in pic)
Image

The Vit steering box is a little longer than the Sierra one. I had to shorten the steering shaft, which was easy enough.
I also had to remove my bulbar and grind out a section. Not really a worry, but just a pain in the arse as it doesn't come off easy!

Vit steering box installed:
Image
I've used the stock Vit hydraulic lines for now. I'll get some flexible custom lines made up as these hang down below the splash guard.


Not 5 minutes after finishing the install, I got a call from some mates who were bogged out at Hollybank. The test-run was pretty good :D

The steering is (obviously) lighter than before, but also feels quite different. Slower, to a point, then it feels quicker??
Maybe the fact that I have now removed the sway bar and steering dampener has something to do with that :lol:

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 866
Location: Map of Tassie!

Post Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 10:21 am 
Reply with quote Top  
Here's the new lines made up.
I took the originals to Enzed and told them the length I required.
The tape is about 1m long.
The high pressure line retains the original fit fittings, just attached to a flexible hose.
Low pressure lines are 1200mm and 450mm. Lengths will depend on where you fit your fluid reservoir.

Image

 Profile  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 5513
Location: Holland Park
Vehicle: Awesome!!

Post Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 10:23 am 
Reply with quote Top  
^^^$?

_________________
Lil Foot!
http://tiny.cc/gtsw1

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 866
Location: Map of Tassie!

Post Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 10:27 am 
Reply with quote Top  
About $150 :?

But that included the awesome hose-clamps too (pity I broke one when I tightened it too much).
It might be cheaper to go to an actual power steering place...

 Profile  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 12:00 am
Posts: 638
Location: Hobart

Post Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:07 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
CairnsZook wrote:
About $150 :?

But that included the awesome hose-clamps too (pity I broke one when I tightened it too much).
It might be cheaper to go to an actual power steering place...


Yeah rookie mistake - I go to onsite hydraulics down here in Hobart. $70 for a full new line, Enzed were going to charge $90 to do a 10cm section on rubber line, or $150 for a complete new one. The Onsite item was rubber hose so it was easy to route.

 Profile  

Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 867
Location: nsw, newcastle

Post Posted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:16 am 
Reply with quote Top  
So the kit is a direct bolt on no major modifications required?

_________________
1996 sierra + 2" body lift + SPOA conversion + ome

 Profile  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 11:00 pm
Posts: 9242
Location: maito
Vehicle: <3 Edna <3

Post Posted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 2:41 am 
Reply with quote Top  
CairnsZook wrote:
About $150 :?

But that included the awesome hose-clamps too (pity I broke one when I tightened it too much).
It might be cheaper to go to an actual power steering place...


thats cheap! i paid $290 if that makes you feel any better....

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 866
Location: Map of Tassie!

Post Posted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 3:00 am 
Reply with quote Top  
mcwilly wrote:
So the kit is a direct bolt on no major modifications required?


Yep, unless you have A/C, then you might have to move some stuff around.

 Profile  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 14312
Location: Here there everywhere
Vehicle: A manly awesome man jimny

Post Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:26 am 
Reply with quote Top  
Is the Sierra pitman used on the vitara steering box?

_________________
JEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEP

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 12:00 am
Posts: 573
Location: Perth WA

Post Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:22 am 
Reply with quote Top  
Nope, vitara arm

 Profile  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 1:04 am
Posts: 305
Location: Northern NSW Australia.
Vehicle: Coily.

Post Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 9:33 am 
Reply with quote Top  
..you couldn't post the actual length of the hose on the high pressure fittings by any chance,having trouble lining it up on the tape.TIA.

 Profile  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 14312
Location: Here there everywhere
Vehicle: A manly awesome man jimny

Post Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 1:42 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
Does anyone make a drop pitman for a vitara steering box? Or will my Sierra pitman fit the vitara box?

_________________
JEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEP

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 4660
Location: Brisbane

Post Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 2:43 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
shep wrote:
Does anyone make a drop pitman for a vitara steering box? Or will my Sierra pitman fit the vitara box?


Sierra pitman wont fit. I have one off a Tarago on my Vit box. Have a look on the shitbox you've been thrashing around, the pitman on that will probably fit Armsup

_________________
SJ50.4.LYF

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:00 pm
Posts: 7674
Location: Brisbane

Post Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 4:03 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
lowrange have one for a vit box too dont they

 Profile  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 14312
Location: Here there everywhere
Vehicle: A manly awesome man jimny

Post Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 6:03 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
tanshi wrote:
lowrange have one for a vit box too dont they



I am sure I saw one there a year or four ago but there is only one for a Sierra box now.



Damo wrote:
shep wrote:
Does anyone make a drop pitman for a vitara steering box? Or will my Sierra pitman fit the vitara box?


Sierra pitman wont fit. I have one off a Tarago on my Vit box. Have a look on the shitbox you've been thrashing around, the pitman on that will probably fit Armsup


How convenient Armsup

_________________
JEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEP

 Profile  

Offline
I live here!
I live here!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:00 am
Posts: 42597
Location: Rockingham W.A
Vehicle: SQ625

Post Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 10:01 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
Hey Shep :)

http://www.puresuzuki.com/kick_pitman_arm.htm

_________________
I like boobs

 Profile  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 14312
Location: Here there everywhere
Vehicle: A manly awesome man jimny

Post Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:29 am 
Reply with quote Top  
Thanks joe.

_________________
JEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEPJEEP

 Profile  

Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 7:57 am
Posts: 210
Location: Keilor
Vehicle: 92 tintop sierra

Post Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
Acouple of q's.

Did you have to bend the metal sections of the vit high pressure hose or are they untouched.

Also where did you place the resivour?

thanks.

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 11:25 pm
Posts: 9347
Location: Newcastle
Vehicle: G13BB Jimny

Post Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:30 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
What do people do with the passenger side radiator mount now that the drivers side is spaced across?

_________________
mlm

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 11:25 pm
Posts: 9347
Location: Newcastle
Vehicle: G13BB Jimny

Post Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 4:07 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
And the fan now offset..

_________________
mlm

 Profile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Jump to:  


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
Untitled Document


Untitled Document


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group :: Style based on FI Subice by phpBBservice.nl :: All times are UTC + 10 hours